Skip navigation

Four HVACR Programs Receive PAHRA Accreditation

The HVACR training programs of four schools have received national accreditation through the Partnership for Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Accreditation (PAHRA) program. The schools are:

  • Alaskas Vocational Technical Center, Seward, AK
  • Ben Franklin Career Center, Dunbar, WV
  • North High School, Akron, OH
  • R.G. Drage Career Technical Center, Massillon, OH

Accreditation from PAHRA certifies that the HVACR programs at these institutions have exceeded industry standards in its instruction, curriculum, student, faculty, facility, and qualification standards set forth by industry in areas of residential air conditioning and heating, light commercial air conditioning and heating, and commercial refrigeration.

PAHRA is validated by representatives from each major HVACR trade association and is available to all training programs, whether they are secondary, post secondary, public or private. It was created for the purpose of establishing national educational standards for accrediting HVACR programs.

To become accredited, a training school must first evaluate its own strengths and weaknesses as compared to industry standards and then submit its findings in a self-study report. A survey team then conducts an on-site visit to corroborate the selfstudy report.

The program launched in January 2001. Since then, a total of 16 schools have received accreditation through the PAHRA program. For a list of these schools, visit

Partnerships in PAHRA include:

  • Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute
  • Air Conditioning Contractors of America
  • American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Engineers
  • The Council of Air-Conditioning and
  • Refrigeration Educators
  • The Gas Appliance Manufacturing Association
  • The Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Distributors International
  • North American Technician Excellence
  • The Plumbing Heating Cooling Contractors-National Association.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.