ASHRAE Conference Part 3: 'Write' Recognitionof Paper Authors

July 10, 2012
John A. Murphy received the Journal Paper Award for “High-Performance VAV Systems” article.

Putting fingers to keyboard to relate the many diverse and often very complex HVACR applications that grow the industry is never an easy task. Accordingly, The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) presents annual awards to authors who have documented their own research or collaborative efforts in HVACR technological developments.

The Journal Paper Award honors the best paper or article published in ASHRAE Journal.

  • John A. Murphy received the Journal Paper Award for his article, “High-Performance VAV Systems.” Murphy is an applications engineer, Trane Co., La Crosse, Wis.
  • Charles Eley, FAIA, P.E., ASHRAE-Certified Building Energy Modeling Professional; Kimberly Goodrich; John J. Arent, P.E.; Randall T. Higa, P.E.; and Devin Rauss, P.E., receive an ASHRAE Poster Presentation Award for “Rethinking Percent Savings – The Problem with Percent Savings and zEPI: The New Scale for a Zero Net Energy Future.” The award is given to peer-reviewed technical papers with the best visual and technical information presented at Society meetings.

Eley is principal, Eley Consulting, San Francisco, Calif.; Goodrich is a consultant, Arup, San Francisco, Calif.; Arent is senior engineer, Architectural Energy Corp., San Francisco, Calif.; Higa is a program manager, Southern California Edison, Irwindale, Calif.; Rauss is an engineer, Southern California Edison, Irwindale, Calif.

  • Jasmin Raymond, Ph.D.; Alexandre Léger Jr., Eng.; René Therrien, Ph.D.; Marc Fenette, ing.; and Éric Magni also receive a Poster Award for “Numerical Modeling of Thermally Enhanced Pipe Performances in Vertical Ground Heat Exchangers.”

Raymond is a postdoctoral fellow at École de Technologie Supérierure, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, and research advisor at HydroGeoPro, McMasterville, Quebec, Canada; Léger is a project engineer, Versaprofiles products, Saint-Lazare-de-Bellechasse, Quebec, Canada; Therrien is full professor and department chair, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, Université Laval, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada; Fenette is a senior consultant, Fujitsu Canada, La Pocatière, Quebec, Canada; Magni is with Polytechs in Cany Barville, France.

  • Jacob L. Edmondson , Dennis L. O’Neal, Ph.D., P.E., Fellow ASHRAE; John A. Bryant, Ph.D., P.E.; and Michael A. Davis, Ph.D., are the recipients of the Crosby Field Award. Their paper, “Performance of Series Fan-Powered Terminal Units with Electronically Commutated Motors,” was judged to be the best paper presented before the Society in 2011. The Crosby Field Award is named for Presidential Member Crosby Field, whose ideas and hard work helped shape the industry. They also receive an ASHRAE Technical Paper Award, which recognizes the authors of the best papers presented at Society meetings.
In addition, Edmondson receives the Willis H. Carrier Award, which is given to an ASHRAE member 32 years of age or younger for presenting an outstanding paper at a Society meeting. Edmondson, O’Neal, Bryant and Davis also receive an ASHRAE Technical Paper Award, which recognizes the authors of the best papers presented at Society meetings, for their paper “Performance of Parallel Fan-Powered Terminal Units with Electronically Commutated Motors.”

Edmondson is a mechanical engineer in training, GPM Engineering, San Antonio, Texas; O’Neal is an associate dean for research, Dwight Look College of Engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station Texas; Bryant is an associate professor, Mechanical Engineering Program, Texas A&M University at Qatar, Doha, Qatar; Davis is director of laboratories, New York University Abu Dhabi, Abu Khabi, United Arab Emirates.

In addition, Edmondson receives an ASHRAE Paper Award, along with and his co-authors, O’Neal, Bryant and Davis, and the Crosby Field Award for their papers.

The following papers were selected to receive ASHRAE Technical Paper Awards, which recognize the authors of the best papers presented at Society meetings.

  • Kris Subbarao, Ph.D.; Yafeng Lei, Ph.D.; and T. Agami Reddy, Ph.D., P.E., receive an award for “The Nearest Neighborhood Method to Improve Uncertainty Estimates in Statistical Building Energy Models.” Subbarao is a senior engineer, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Wash.; Lei is a senior project engineer, Nextant Inc., Houston, Texas; Reddy is SRP Professor of Energy and Environment with a joint faculty appointment in the Design School and the School of Sustainability, Arizona State University.
  • William M. Healy, Ph.D.; Tania Ullah; and John Roller receive an award for “Input-Out Approach to Predicting the Energy Efficiency of Residential Water Heaters-Testing of Gas Tankless and Electric Storage Water Heaters.” Healy is a group leader and Ullah is a mechanical engineer, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Md.; Roller is a senior undergraduate student at Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Va.