Emery 'Pete' Neitzel Receives AMCA International Distinguished Service Award

Nov. 12, 2009
Emery "Pete" Neitzel, former AMCA president, received the Air Movement and Control Association’s (AMCA) highest honor for distinguished service, for his service to AMCA but to the entire HVACR industry.

Emery "Pete" Neitzel — former AMCA President, and retired vice president of engineering and manufacturing for Greenheck Fan Corporation, Schofield, WI — received the Air Movement and Control Association’s (AMCA's) highest honor for distinguished service, to AMCA and to the HVACR industry as a whole.

The award was presented during the AMCA annual meeting in Mont Tremblant, Quebec, Canada. AMCA President, Denis Labelle, executive vice president T. A. Morrison & Co., Inc. (TAMCO) of Ottawa, Ontario Canada, presented the award.

Neitzel served on several of the association’s technical committees and assisted with the development of many AMCA publications and standards. He served as chair of the technical advisory committee on sound from 1986-1994; chair of the engineering standards committee from 1993-1996; and chair of the air movement division from 1998-2000. Neitzel was elected to the board of directors in 1999 and served on the executive committee and as AMCA International’s president in 2005-2006.

In addition to his service to AMCA, Neitzel has contributed to the development of standards for other trade organizations, including the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc. (ASHRAE); Underwriters Laboratories, Inc. (UL); and the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). He has published and presented many papers on HVAC equipment design, testing and application.

Neitzel began his career with Greenheck in 1973. He held numerous positions within the company including technical director; manager of research and development; manager of engineering; and vice president of engineering. In April 2001, he was promoted to vice president of engineering and manufacturing, a position he held until his retirement in January, 2008.