• MCAA Presents Many AwardsDuring Annual Conference

    May 4, 2011
    New president, board members elected.

    Robert (“Bob”) Turner, president/CEO of Tucker Mechanical, an EMCOR Company, Meriden, CT, received the Mechanical Contractors Association of America’s (MCAA) Distinguished Service Award during the opening general session of the association’s annual convention in Wailea, Maui, HI.

    The award was presented as "an enduring testimony to his commitment to the mechanical contracting industry and his association at the local and national levels."

    Turner's service includes two terms as president of MCA of Connecticut. He is a 25-year member of its board of directors. He has shared his expertise as a pension and health and welfare fund trustee, as chair of its labor committee, education and membership committees, and as chair of its industry fund.

    The MCAA Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual for contributions to the progress, development, and expansion of the HVACR industry, as well as for outstanding achievement and distinguished service to the Mechanical Contractors Association of America.

    Other awards presented during the annual convention include:
    Mike Feutz of Ferris State University, Big Rapids, MI, was named 2010 Educator of the Year. Feutz was chosen based on his mentoring, industry knowledge and involvement, and participation in student chapter activities.
    H.T. Lyons, Inc., a mechanical contractor located in Eastern Pennsylvania, received the Mechanical Contractors Association of America’s (MCAA) E. Robert Kent Award for Management Innovation, for its Serviceeye web application. The award honors an MCAA member firm whose innovation improves productivity, increases our cost-effectiveness, or otherwise improves the mechanical industry.

    New Leadership Appointments

    • Mark Rogers, chief operating officer of West Chester Mechanical Contractors, Inc., Philadelphia, PA, was named MCAA president.
    • William J. “Mac” Lynch, president, William F. Lynch Co., Worcester, MA, was elected president-elect.
    • Michael R. Cable, executive vice president of Kinetics, Wilsonville, OR, was elected vice president/treasurer.
    • Chuck Fell, president, CFI Mechanical, Inc., Houston, TX, was elected vice president/assistant treasurer.

    The following were named to the MCAA board of directors:

    • Donald V. Brown, Jr., president and CEO of D.V. Brown & Associates, Inc., Tonawanda, NY
    • Joe Labruzzo, president/COO, Way Engineering, Ltd., Houston, TX
    • Charles M. Usher, Jr., president, Ideal Heating Company, Brookfield, IL.

    Student Chapter Competition
    The MCAA Student Chapter at the Milwaukee School of Engineering received top honors for their efforts in the MCAA 2010-2011 Student Chapter Competition. A record 29 teams submitted proposals for this year’s project, the centerpiece of a 15,000 sq.ft., two-story, high-end “green” building project in northern California.

    The Greater Michigan MSCA student chapter at Ferris State University was named the MCAA's 2010 Student Chapter of the Year.

    Krista Misley, a construction management major in Kent State University’s College of Technology, received the Mechanical Contracting Education & Research Foundation’s (MCERF) Foster McCarl, Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

    Safety Awards Presented
    MCAA recognized member firms that demonstrated the highest level of safety excellence in 2010 with Safety Excellence Awards during the Annual Awards of Excellence Breakfast.

    MCAA President Bob Armistead presented the awards. The winners who received recognition for their exemplary 2010 safety records are:

    Category One, 100,000 work hours and under,
    • First place: Current Mechanical of Fort Wayne, IN; Ted Current, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, accepted the award.
    • Second place: J. Moore and Company, Livingston, NJ
    • Third place: Lescure Company, Lafayette, CA

    Category Two, 100,000 to 250,000 work hours,
    • First place: University Marelich Mechanical of Anaheim, CA. The award was accepted by Scott Baker, President and CEO.
    • Second place: CFI Mechanical, Houston, TX
    • Third place: Broadway Mechanical Contractors, Oakland, CA

    Category Three, 250,000 to 400,000 work hours
    • First place: Binsky & Snyder of Piscataway, NJ. Bob Snyder, Jr., Executive Vice President, accepted the award.
    • Second place: Limbach Company of Laurel, MD
    • Third place: Illingworth-Kilgust Mechanical of Milwaukee, WI

    Category Four, 400,000 to 1,000,000 work hours,
    • First place: Scheck Mechanical Corporation of Countryside, IL. The award was accepted by Rich Scheck, President and CEO; Chris Scheck, Vice President; Michael Scheck, Vice President - Sales and Billy Odom, CFO.
    • Second place: Poole & Kent Corporation, Baltimore, MD
    • Third place: Freitag-Weinhardt, Incorporated of Terre Haute, IN

    Category Five, over 1,000,000 work hours,
    • First place: Performance Mechanical of Pittsburg, CA. Don Silva, President and CEO, and Pat Jones, Vice President, accepted the award. • Second place: Nooter Construction of Trevose, PA
    • Third place: Matrix Service Industrial Contractors of Eddystone, PA. President Armistead congratulated all safety award recipients and thanked Health Committee Chairman Tom Skaggs, Murphy Company, his committee, and MCAA Safety Director Pete Chaney.

    "They do a great job for us by developing programs and tools so we can continuously improve safety in the workplace," Armistead said.

    Normal.dotm00152298Penton Media Inc.2136512.00false18 pt18 pt00falsefalsefalse