Skip navigation

Your 2018 AHR Expo Innovation Award Winners

A good contest brings out the best. Each year, the AHR Exposition presents Innovation Awards in 10 HVACR categories, and a 'Product of the Year' award, for an extra special product innovation.

CHICAGO, Ill. —The AHR Expo Innovation Awards is an annual competition that honors the most inventive and original products, systems and technologies showcased at each year’s AHR Expo. Products go head-to-head in the following categories: building automation; cooling; green building; heating; indoor air quality; plumbing; refrigeration; software; tools & instruments; and ventilation. Winners are selected by a panel of third-party ASHRAE member judges who evaluate all award entries based on innovative design, creativity, application, value and market impact.

Entry Fees Donated Each Year

At the conclusion of each show, AHR Expo management and its exhibitors who enter the competition give back to the community by donating the Innovation Awards entry fees to an organization in the region where the show is being held. A selection committee chooses a deserving organization that is in need of HVACR repairs, upgrades or installations. The 2018 recipient is The Chicago Lighthouse, a non-profit organization serving the blind and visually-impaired.


In each photo, making the presentations to the various winners are, standing, at left, 2017-18 ASHRAE President, Bjarne W. Olesen, Ph.D.; seated in each photo is Clay Stevens, president, International Exposition Company; and standing at the right side of the stage is Chris Peel, President and Chief Operating Officer of Atlanta-based Rheem Manufacturing, the 2017-2018 chairman of the Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI).

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.