A.O. Smith Awards 10 Scholarships

Nov. 1, 2002
Ten undergraduate students have been awarded $2,000 scholarships from A.O. Smith Water Products Company. This is the third consecutive year that A.O.

Ten undergraduate students have been awarded $2,000 scholarships from A.O. Smith Water Products Company. This is the third consecutive year that A.O. Smith sponsored a scholarship program for its Professional Contractor Association. PCA member firms' owners and employees, their spouses, children and grandchildren were eligible to participate. Nearly 200 applications were received and evaluated. Scholarship recipients were selected based on past academic performance, future potential to succeed, leadership and participation in school and community activities, work experience, statement of career and educational aspirations and goals, unusual personal or family circumstances, and an outside appraisal. Scholarship recipients for 2002 are:

  • Emily Braun, daughter of Terrence and Joan Braun of Fond du Lac, WI. Braun is a sophomore at Michigan Technological University (Houghton, MI) with a major in biomedical engineering. She graduated from L.P. Goodrich High School, Fond du Lac, where she was involved in student government, band, Campus Connection, Section Leader and the National Honor Society.
  • Angie Fischer, daughter of Leonard and Beth Fisher of Miller, S.D. Fischer is a junior at South Dakota State University (Brookings, S.D.), where she is majoring in early childhood education. She is on the Dean's List, a member of the Association for the Education of Young Children, and participates in intramural volleyball and basketball. Fischer is a graduate of Miller (SD) Senior High School.
  • Nathan Goodell, son of Jay and Barb Goodell, of Mantua, OH, is a sophomore at Ohio State University (Columbus, OH), where he is involved in Alpha Zeta Partners, Alpha Lambda Delta/Phi Eta Sigma, Dean's List, Buckeye Dairy Club, Farm Bureau, University Lutheran Chapel, National Society of Collegiate Scholars, and Appalachia
    Service Project. Nathan is majoring in animal science. Goodell graduated from Crestwood High School in Mantua.
  • Andrew Hubrig, son of Glenn and Cheryl Hubrig of Hankinson, ND, is a sophomore at Concordia University (River Forest, IL) studying communications and marketing. He is involved in the college drama department, CYM and the Dean's List. Hubrig graduated from Hankinson (ND) High School, where he participated golf and speech and received the Best Actor Award.
  • Natalie Lashway, Palm Beach Gardens, FL, daughter of Sharon Lashway and Clifford Lashway. Lashway is a sophomore at the University of Florida (Gainesville, FL) with a major in political science. A graduate of William T. Dwyer High School in Palm Beach Gardens, Natalie was named to the flag football All-Conference team and Senior All-Star team, Who's Who Among American High School Students, and National Honor Roll. She also was a prize winner for the Annual Essay Contest of the Palm Beach Branch of the English Speaking Union of the United States, was inducted into the Senior Hall of Fame, received an Academic Letter, won the President' Award for Educational Excellence and the Volunteer Community Service Award.
  • Sara Danae Patterson, daughter of Daniel and Jane Patterson of Dayton, OH. Sara is a recent graduate of Dayton Christian High School. Among the honors she holds are a valedictorian scholarship, outstanding art student, cheerleading captain, national individual cheerleading champion and National Honor Society officer. Patterson will be a freshman at Miami University (Oxford, OH), majoring in physical therapy.
  • James Rittimann, son of Danny and Louise Rittimarm of New Braunfels, TX. A graduate of Canyon High School in New Braunfels, Rittimarm is a junior at Baylor University (Waco, TX) where he is majoring in biology/pre-medicine. Among Rittimann's activities are Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society, Alpha Epsilon Delta Pre-Med Honor Society, Beta Beta Beta Biology Honor Society treasurer, Latin Dance Society, Study Abroad, and the Stepping Out Volunteer Program.
  • Matthew Runnebohm, son of Joe and Jackie Runnebohm of Waldron, IN. Runnebohm is a junior at Franklin College (Franklin, IN) with a major in pre-medicine (biology and chemistry). He is house manager for Kappa Delta Rho, and is involved with the Chemistry Club, Scrub Club, Lancers and Laurels, and the National Collegiate Honor Society. He graduated from Waldron (IN) High School.
  • Jeffrey Sebeniecher, son of Rex and Doris Sebeniecher of Stanton, IA, is a junior at Peru State University (Peru, NE.) with a major in technology business administration. His activities include 2002 All-Iowa Academic Team, 2002 All-USA Academic Team nominee, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, President's List, Dean's List, Student Senate, and Statewide Leadership Conference. Sebeniecher is a graduate of Stanton (IA) High School.
  • Susan Stefanski, daughter of Ray and Maureen Stefanski of Baltimore, MD. Stefanski was salutatorian of her graduating class at the Institute of Notre Dame in Baltimore. Among her honors and recognitions were Maryland Distinguished ScholarHonorable Mention, National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society, Archdiocese of Baltimore Eagle of the Cross Award, U.S. Army Reserves Scholarship Athlete, Wendy's High School Heisman Scholarship-Maryland State Finalist, and Hugh O'Brien Youth Leadership Seminar staff member. She will be a freshman at Saint Joseph's University (Philadelphia, PA) with a major in theology.
The PCA Scholarship Program is administered by Scholarship Management Services, a department of Citizens' Scholarship Foundation of America Inc. CSFA is a national non-profit educational support and student aid service organization that seeks to involve and assist the private sector in expanding educational opportunities and encouraging educational achievement. A.O. Smith Water Products Company, headquartered in Ashland City, TN, is a manufacturer and marketer of residential and commercial water heaters and hydronic boilers.