HARDI Conference Full of Surprises, Moving Members into Successful Future

Dec. 1, 2012
The 2012 HARDI Annual Conference was a huge success with an excellent array of bright and challenging speakers, surprise guests and many members honored

The 2012 HARDI Annual Conference was a huge success with an excellent array of bright and challenging speakers, surprise guests and many members honored with prestigious awards.

HARDI recognized the members who have helped the organization grow to its largest distributor membership ever with the 2012 Key Member Awards given to Scott Robertson of Robertson Heating Supply, Sam Roti of ChemChill Chemicals, Tom McCreesh of Dunphey-Smith Company, Doug Young of Behler-Young Company, Walt Baker of Polar Refrigerant Technology, Jim Jackson of Superior Equipment, Ferron Stokes of Invensys Controls America and Michael Fox of The Portland Group.

HARDI 2012 President, Bud Mingledorff, presented John Ehlen, publisher of HVACR Distribution Business magazine, with the Dedication Award for his unique contributions towards making HARDI what it has become today.

“I was very surprised and honored and humbled by this award. I am really grateful to Talbot and the Board for this award,” said Ehlen. “I've been involved with NHRAW and ARWI since the early '80s. I really like to support the association and it's fun to help it grow.”

The HARDI 2012 Booster Award went to John Lawler of NuCalgon, because of his outstanding contributions to the association and the industry.

The 2012 Conference Booth awards were given to the Supplier Members who are the most loyal and supportive of the Booth Program, which sold out weeks before the conference. For the 10-year participants, awards were given to Airgas Refrigerants, ComfortStar/SmartElectric/ComfortStat, JMF Company, Reflectix and Tecumseh Products. For 20-year participants, awards were given to Brainerd Compressor, Fantech, ICM Controls, Imperial, Mestek Machinery, Mortex Products and Sealed Unit Parts. Cozy/Louisville Tin & Stove Company was honored with a 25-year award, while Cerro Flow Products, DiversiTech Corporation and Motors & Armatures were awarded with the 30-year participant award. Atco Rubber Products received the 40-year award and Don Schmidt of Malco Products accepted the impressive award for 50 years of participation in the Booth Program.

This year's conference speakers were unique and informative, covering topics from Google search secrets to Washington's outlook on the industry to where the future of refrigerants lies. Members were most dazzled by Sam Richter, high-tech motivational speaker, and his lessons on how to find information about anyone from anywhere. Fortune magazine columnist, Nina Easton, decoded the inner-workings of Washington.

Surprise guest, Army Specialist Bryant Jacobs, received a standing ovation when he appeared on stage to talk about the benefits of Homes For Our Troops (HFOT) and the tremendous efforts of Helping All Live On (HALO) in raising funds for the organization.

For this year's speakers' presentations, visit www.eventmobi.com/hardi2012 and for conference photographs visit www.flickr.com/photos/hardinews/.